top of page

2023 MMLA Recipient

The Georgia Veterans Day Association is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2023 Marvin Myers Leadership Award is CSM Chris Lewis, US Army Retired.​ He is originally from Foxboro, Massachusetts, entering the United States Army in June 1987 at Fort Benning, Georgia, where he completed One Station Unit Training (OSUT) as an 11C Indirect Fire Infantryman [Mortars], followed by the Basic Airborne Course. He was then assigned to the 60mm Mortar Section, Bravo Company, 3rd Battalion, 505th Parachute Infantry Regiment, 82d Airborne Division at Fort Bragg, North Carolina in October 1987. In his 32 years of service, CSM(R) Lewis served in a variety of assignments, to include Airborne, Mechanized Infantry, Light Infantry and Stryker units, to include the 1st Armored Division, 1st Infantry Division, 3rd Infantry Division, 10th Mountain Division, and the 82nd Airborne Division. He has six combat deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan, and four peacekeeping and security assistance missions to the Balkans [Bosnia, Macedonia, Kosovo, and Slovenia]. Command Sergeant Major (Retired) Christopher Lewis has been the Vice President of Operations for the National Infantry Museum Foundation [NIMF] since May 2023. He previously served as the Director of Education and Volunteer Services for the Museum from February 2020 to April 2023. CSM Lewis will accept the 2023 Marvin Myers Leadership Award at the annual Freedom Ball taking place on 11 November 2023 in the ballroom of the Cobb Galleria Centre.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page